top of page

My Thoughts on Learning

My thoughts on learning and my reflection on my learning manifesto.


Photo Credit: WIX Media


My core beliefs surrounding learning and my role as an educator in my students' learning journey. I still think that educators must keep their passions close in this profession as oftentimes our students are not always thankful for our lessons and hard work. I know that every student has the right to individualized, impactful learning that enriches their life and makes them more well-rounded. Students need to feel supported and encouraged in order to unlock a student's motivation so they can reach their full potential. Every student wants success.


I believe that igniting a student's passion and incorporating their interests will make students more engaged in their learning and encourage them to not only want to learn, but to also take ownership of their own learning and connect their own life experiences to the content they are learning in class. For my students, the power of choice in showing their mastery of content unlocks a lot of motivation and reduces the fear of failure that many of my reluctant students will allow to overwhelm them and completely shut down. By using COVA principles in my classroom and allowing them to shape my learning environment students will be excited to learn and my classroom will be a joyous environment. I have not changed any of my beliefs, my learning and reflections have just helped me understand the best way to create the changes I want to see in my classroom.

To learn more about my learning manifesto click here.

Recent Posts

See All

COVA 10-12 Response

My response to Chapters 10-12 of COVA: Inspire learning through choice, ownership, voice, and authentic experiences by Dr. Harapnuik and...

Comments


bottom of page